MissionFacilitiesDonate to EconomicsNewslettersContact Us
FacultyFaculty by FieldsAdvisory BoardNew FacultyFT FacultyAdjunct FacultyEmeritus FacultyJob PostingsCurrent Graduate StudentsCurrent Instructor Office HoursJob Market CandidatesJob Market PlacementAdvisorsStaff
This Week's SeminarsApplied EconomicsEconometricsEconomic TheoryMacroeconomicsTheory Reading GroupTheory/Macro Brown Bag SeminarsDevelopment Lunch SeminarsGraduate Research Workshop (EC950)SWiM: Summer Weekly MeetingsAEA Summer Program Seminar SeriesGraduate Student SeminarsGraduate Student DefensesDunaway Lecture
WelcomePhD ProgramProgram StructureFunding InformationApplication InformationFrequently Asked QuestionsPast Job Market PlacementsCurrent Job Market CandidatesOverride Request Form
About Our Undergraduate ProgramsAreas of EmphasisEcon Scholars ProgramEcon Scholars AlumniCoursesOverride Request FormFAQHelp Room ScheduleOnline CoursesOnline Course RegistrationStudy AbroadUndergraduate AwardsEconomics ScholarshipsDual Degrees

Undergraduate Awards

Each year, over 400 men and women graduate MSU with degrees in economics, and each year the Department of Economics honors the best and brightest of these economics students during an awards reception held at the close of the spring semester. All of the students recognized at this year’s reception compiled excellent academic records in their economics courses and most participated in the department’s Econ Scholars program, designed to enrich the experience of our best undergraduate students (http://www.econ.msu.edu/undergraduate/scholars.php). As the profiles of the awardees below will show, they also had significant academic interests and extracurricular activities beyond economics, often receiving recognition for their excellence in those endeavors as well.

Undergraduate Award Winners for 2018: (L to R) Tyler Miksanek, Kade Katrak, Bailey Johnson, Jack Weyhrich, Zach Kuloszewski, Yahya Talab, Laura Boisten, Professor Tim Vogelsang (Department Chair) Not Pictured: Mitchell Abood

Four students received the Edwin A. and Eleanor B. Carlin Award, established by Eleanor Carlin in memory of her husband, Edward A. Carlin, Dean of University College at MSU from 1956 to 1977 and Professor of Economics until his retirement in 1983:

Laura Boisten was a member of the Honors College and an Econ Scholar.  She was an undergraduate teaching assistant in both economics and mathematics.  She received the 2018 ULA Excellence in Teaching Award in Mathematics.  Laura will pursue a Ph.D. in economics at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Zachary Kuloszewski entered MSU with a University Distinguished Scholarship.  He was on the Executive Board of the Quantitative Finance Association and was part of the MSU Fed Challenge team.  Zach was in the Honors College, an Econ Scholar, and worked as an undergraduate teaching assistant in both economics and statistics.  Zach accepted an internship in the Capital Markets group at the Federal Reserve Bank of NY before returning to MSU to complete his degrees.

Yahya Talab was an Econ Scholar and a member of the MSU Fed Challenge team.  He participated in the rugby and wrestling clubs.  He also worked as an undergraduate teaching assistant in economics.  He plans to pursue a Ph.D. in economics.

Jack Weyhrich entered MSU with an Alumni Distinguished Scholarship.  He was in the Honors College and an Econ Scholar.  Jack was the founder and moderator of the Social Science Discussion Forum and a member of the Kappa Omega Alpha Pre-Law and Public Policy Fraternity.  He won multiple end of year awards in the French department.  Jack will return to MSU in the fall and hopes to teach English after graduation (in France) before pursuing a law degree. 

The George F. McGregor Scholarship in Economics was awarded to three students, based on their accomplishments in the classroom:

Bailey Johnson was an Econ Scholar and on the Dean’s List every semester while at MSU.  He was a research assistant in the finance department and an analyst in the Student Investment Association.  He will return to MSU in the fall to complete his degree and then hopes to pursue a Ph.D. in economics.

Kade Katrak entered MSU with an Alumni Distinguished Freshman Scholarship.  He served as an economics tutor for multiple student groups.  Kade was a Professorial Research Assistant in Political Economy.  He was inducted into Phi Beta Kappa to conclude his undergraduate experience.  He will pursue a J.D. at the University of Michigan. 

Tyler Miksanek entered MSU with an Alumni Distinguished Scholarship.  He was an Econ Scholar and member of the Honors College.  Tyler was a Spartan Ambassador Tour Guide, a Professorial Research Assistant, and HSTAR Volunteer.  He earned a Board of Trustees Scholarship for a perfect 4.0 GPA.  He will pursue an M.D./M.P.H. at Northwestern University.

The All-University Award for Excellence, which honors former MSU Economics professors Charles P. “Lash” Larrowe and Walter Adams, was given to Mitchell Abood. Mitchell was on the Dean’s list every semester he spent at MSU, and graduated with honors.



Michigan State University Department of Economics